Prof.(Dr.)S.P.Gon Chaudhuri

Chairman, INSIC

Full Description:

1. Full Name & Contact details

 Prof.(Dr.)S.P.Gon Chaudhuri




2. Area of expertise

  • Renewable Energy
  • Energy Management
  • Off grid &Microgrid Systems
  • Distributed Generation

3. Education

  • BE in Electrical Engineering  .
  • Specialisation  on Renewable  Energy.
  • D.Sc from University of Calcutta in the year 2009.
  • Cert-IV on renewable Energy from TAFE ,Govt of Queensland


4. Specialization

  • Expert Services to Power and Energy sector.
  • Expert Services to Renewable Energy Power plants specially Solar PV and Biomass.
  • Engineering Services to Off grid and Distributed generation.


5. Experience

  • Worked as Managing Director West Bengal Green Energy Development Corporation, Govt of West Bengal. (duration-1993-2003)
  • Worked as Special Secretary (Energy) to  Govt of West Bengal.(duration 2003-2009).
  • Designed and installed India’s first Mini grid project in Sundarban ,Islands of West Bengal (Solar and biomass based).
  • Designed and installed India’s first MW level Solar Power Plant (capacity 2 MW).
  • Formulated Renewable Energy policy , Roof top Solar Policy Climate Action Plan  for the state of West Bengal and Tripura.
  • Designed Solar Power system for Marshall Island under UN assignment.
  • Installed India’s first wind-diesel hybrid power plant in Sagar Island of West Bengal under India-Canada Funding Project.
  • 30 years of experience in handling Solar PV  projects (small and large).
  • Former Chairman, Ashden India Renewable Energy Collective. A pan India non
  • profit company promoting off grid renewable in India


6. Present Occupation

  • Professor in Green Energy Centre of Indian Institute Engineering    Science and Technology, Calcutta.
  • International Chairman, International Solar Innovation Council,Helsinki  .
  • President, NBIRT, A leading rural technology resource centre of North Eastern India.
  • Consultant to Lakshadweep Island Administration of Govt of India on Island Electrification with Decentralised sources.
  • Member (Energy),Tripura State Planning Board ,Govt of Tripura.